Inkings

Been working on a load of new paintings this year. I got so fed up with spending half my studio time preparing new canvases and waiting for primer and grounds to dry that I gave up on primed canvas and have been painting on raw cotton and then sealing it after.earlier this summer I did do some oils on board, but on the whole its been mainly ink and wet acrylic on unprimed canvas. One of the things I always like about painting outside is that it forces you to be quick, make decisions and resolve a painting in one session or so. Taking that approach back into the studio has been really useful, my success rate is less than before, but as its been a productive process I still end up with a decent amount of keepers.

rainbow face detail autumn landscape canvas detail orange portrait

 

 

Leave a comment